Kingsbury High School Student chosen for National Anti-Bullying Youth Board


14 year old Naren Kondhia from Kingsbury High School has been selected from 100 applicants to be a National Anti-Bullying Ambassador Youth Board Member.

16 inspirational young people, aged from 9 – 19 from different regions across England, have been selected to sit on the Youth Board. The Youth Board will represent the views of thousands of schools and young people from across the UK, offering advice on anti-bullying policies and practises. The members will also be given the opportunity to help with the planning of this year’s Anti-Bullying week which takes place in November.

The Diana Award runs the Anti-Bullying Ambassador’s programme, a nationwide peer led initiative with 2,000 trained ambassadors in over 300 schools across the UK. The Diana Award helps the Ambassadors by holding training events, giving them inspiration, practical ideas and top tips.

Naren said: “I am delighted to be part of the National Anti-Bullying Youth Board and I am looking forward to representing young peoples’ views about bullying and sharing best practice. By being a board member, I feel I will definitely make a difference to the lives of other young people who have experienced bullying or have been a bully themselves.”

Alex Holmes, Diana Award Anti-Bullying Programme Manager said: “I was really impressed with the applications we received for the National Anti-Bullying Youth Board. I am looking forward to meeting up with the board members throughout the year and hearing their views, ideas and recommendations. The National Anti-Bullying Youth Board members will provide a true insight into bullying issues throughout the UK and listening to them will shape our approach to bullying for future generations.”

The Anti-Bullying Ambassadors programme will receive no further government funding from April 2013. To ensure the ambassadors programme can continue to be run in schools throughout the UK future funding is needed.

The Diana Award was established in 1999 in memory of Diana, Princess of Wales, as a legacy to her belief in the power of young people to change the world.

For more information or to join our Anti-Bullying Ambassadors programme, please visit

[text by The Diana Award; photograph by Steve Foster]