‘I’m Helping to Beat Cancer’

year_8_charity_campaign_launch-10

On Friday 8th December a special assembly was held for Year 8 students which saw the launch of their campaign to raise awareness and funds for the charity Cancer Research UK.

Friday’s assembly gave Year 8s an opportunity to meet Kingsbury High’s Year 11 charity committee member, Ilyas Solayman and the Year 13 mentors, who will be helping with events.

Speaking at the assembly, Ilyas said “To me, charity is so much more than just giving or donating money. It’s more about showing love and care to those around you. It’s about understanding the difficult circumstances people are in and doing something for them, making a difference in their lives and expecting no rewards back. It’s about doing something voluntarily even if you are in a better position because sometimes they are not as fortunate as us.

“Charity is quite an emotional and sensitive thing and I believe that we can do lots to help, but to do something personal to us, give us more thought in what we are doing, try to donate things other than money. I try to donate my time, do voluntary work, donate a book or something. It’s not just giving money when I have money or loose change; it’s about giving thought to what I am doing.

“Last year I took part in many events. One was the Santa Dash which was a run we did for St Luke’s Hospice in December and it was a really good event because I got together with many people I didn’t know. I learnt about caring about other people, not just myself and it taught me a lot of things. I think it’s really great this school does a lot to do with charity work, especially when you’re growing up.”

Year 13 mentors introduced themselves and spoke of the different ways they will be helping throughout the campaign.

The assembly concluded with Year 13s, leading by example by, donating items into charity boxes with the words ‘I’m helping to beat cancer’ written on them.

Year Leader, Helen Snow, said “We looked at past successful events hoping to inspire a new group of almost teenagers to be thoughtful at a time when the world can be all about themselves.

“The students have grasped the challenge with both hands and are excited about what they can do. They have brought many donations to my office, filling 2 charity sacks already.

“Students will be involved in running and participating in a number of charity events throughout the year and we look forward to our Winter Fair on 16th December.”

Leave a Reply

