Bike Club

khs_bike_club-1
Four Sixth Form students have set up a club to help their younger peers learn to ride a bicycle. The club is an extension of a recent trip to Quinta where Year 7 students were taught by Mrs Woodrow and the Sixth Formers.

The Year 12s, Jotham, Meera, Sakthy and Viren, give up one lunch time a week to deliver the sessions where they identify the specific needs of each learner.

Jotham said “Bike club provides mental and emotional training by allowing students to increase their confidence; build determination; and get rid of the mental block that stops you from doing something outside of your comfort zone.”

Warda Batool, Year 7 student, said “Because I’m new, the Sixth Formers hold the seat and the handle for me. They tell me what I’m doing wrong and how I should improve. It makes me feel good that they are helping me so much. I would like to say thank you to them. It’s really helping me and I’ll try my best. I’m really looking forward to going next week.”

Leave a Reply

