Alumni Day 2014

alumni_day_2014-24

On Friday 5th September 2014, the school was thrilled to welcome back around 40 of its former students to inspire the new Year 12 students during their induction day. The oldest member of the panel left the school in the late 1960s and the youngest members have just completed their A levels and are waiting to take up university places. Visitors included Oxbridge lawyers, economists and astrophysicists; professional insolvency practitioners, lawyers, housing managers and law enforcement officers; undergraduates and postgraduates of a range of degree courses; and apprentices in nursing care and mechanics. Aside from sharing thoughts, experiences and advice, the former students had time to mix with our current students so that questions could be asked informally.

We were delighted, in addition, to welcome one of ‘The Independent’ newspaper’s School Leavers of the Year, Melissa Calleja, a Supply Chain and Logistics Manager for London restaurant chain, ‘Pret a Manger’, who had chosen to go into work after Kingsbury High rather than take the university route; Claire Jamieson, who has developed a highly successful managerial career with a pub restaurant chain since graduating from university; and Norman Womuhai who has set up his own non-profit organisation called ‘Aim Big Think Bang’ to encourage and motivate young people to engage in volunteering and extracurricular curricular activities whilst successfully managing their academic time.

Norman said “I am in a position where I have been successful thanks to the support given to me at school, so it was important to me to attend the Alumni Day to help my younger Kingsbury peers.

The atmosphere at the Alumni Day was very lively; I always enjoy such Kingsbury High School inspired events. I think for me, what made the vibe so exciting and the event buzz, was being surrounded by successful individuals with a wealth of experiences. What is more, I found it personally beneficial, as it was an excellent networking opportunity.

I thoroughly enjoyed the day – not only for meeting my peers, but also seeing and thanking the teachers who greatly contributed to my success.”

Year 12 student, Zaki Hassan, said “I thought the Alumni Day was wonderful. It helped me get some insight on how to search for a career and how to utilise my time in the Sixth Form.

Norman, in particular, definitely inspired me to do well in Sixth Form. He also encouraged me to participate in extracurricular events.

What surprised me the most is that the amount of work the former students had to do in order to achieve their goals. It’s daunting but I think it will be well worth it in the end.”

The highly successful alumni gave their time for free on the day and we hope that our new Year 12 students benefit enormously from their examples and insights. We hope to continue this tradition next year. The Sixth Form Prefects should also be highly commended for supporting the alumni whilst also making their own contributions to the induction day. A huge thank you goes to Binda Patel from Pure Potential for offering free university and career advice.

Leave a Reply

